A Dutch wax print dress to wear to a good friend’s wedding the other week.

IMG_0073

I drafted the bodice block myself, and the skirt is just a couple of big rectangles, pleated. The bodice block needs a bit of work on the front arm scye (needs to be a bit bigger, it’s almost cutting into my upper arm), and the front neck needs a tiny bit pinching out to make it lie flat next time. The armscye was affected by a last minute decision to omit the waist darts, and shape the sides instead. I decided this after the bodice was cut, as I noticed the pattern would look much better less broken up.

And…

Ailakki jumpsuit, Named Patterns

an Ailakki jumpsuit from Named patterns. It’s great fun to wear, and easier and quicker to sew than you might think. It’s a lovely pattern with good, visual instructions. After having to make a bust alteration, mine, like the picture on the Named website, suffers a little pulling on the zip at the back. But, I was on a deadline, and decided I will wear it so little that hours of alterations weren’t worth it. I want to try the Kanerva blouse next.

I don’t often make occasional wear, but have felt recently that it’s no bad thing to sew for garments that are more a bit of fun now and then. They feel like more of a celebration.

